|
|
|
|
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Zag
Tired of his old title
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:35 am Post subject: 1 |
|
|
I received this email today. It was titled:
Notice of Internet Intellectual Property
| Quote: |
Dear Manager,
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)
This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On Oct 8th 2012, We received Kenya Ltd's application that they are registering the name "greylabyrinth" as their Internet Keyword and "greylabyrinth.cn "、"greylabyrinth.com.cn " 、"greylabyrinth.asia "domain names etc.., they are China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so we are sending you this email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!
Best Regards,
Abby Wang
General Manager
Anhui Office (Head Office)
Registration Department Manager
Room 1008 Shenhui Building
Haitian Road, Huli Anhui, China |
Any thoughts? What should I do about it?
It seems reasonably likely that it is just a scam, someone looking to follow up with, "Well, then you have to pay us so much per year in order to reserve those domains for yourself." Or maybe it's legit.
All regular members are invited to give input, not just moderators. This is especially true if you have any legal knowledge. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jedo the Jedi
Paragon in Training
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:18 am Post subject: 2 |
|
|
I've never heard of that. You might ask somebody in charge over at MafiaScum if they've encountered anything like this. I say that because there is a mafiascum.com which has nothing to do with mafia. (I advise not going to that site.)
The other question I would ask is do those Nigeria bank emails have the seemingly official signature? That info at the bottom seems traceable, something I'm sure a scam person wouldn't want. I have no knowledge about that though. _________________ Paragon Tally: 18 mafia, 3 SKs (1 twice), 1 cultist, numerous chat scum...and counting. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MNOWAX
0.999... of a Troll
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:28 am Post subject: 3 |
|
|
its a total scam, I have had the same exact thing hit on my midlakescomputers.com website. _________________ The Man The Myth The Legend
MNOWAX |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MNOWAX
0.999... of a Troll
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Zag
Tired of his old title
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:04 am Post subject: 5 |
|
|
| Thanks, MNO. I was suspecting as much, and was planning to do that research today. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MNOWAX
0.999... of a Troll
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:33 pm Post subject: 6 |
|
|
only thing better would be if it came from Macau, then we could go investigate it ourselves ( and play a little poker on the side....) _________________ The Man The Myth The Legend
MNOWAX |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|
|